Hindus believe in one Supreme God, Brahmm, the formless infinite spirit.

Hinduism is supposed to be ‘apauruseya’, i.e., of impersonal origin & so also are the Gods of Hinduism. They are eternal & though the deities appear to be different & independent, they are really facets of the same Brahmm, the Supreme God.

As Sri Ramakrishna says, there can be as many spiritual paths as there are spiritual aspirants & similarly there can really be as many Gods as there are devotees to suit the moods, feelings, emotions & social background of the devotees.

The Hindu scriptures were eloquent while describing the qualities of God. He is all-knowing & all powerful. He is the very personification of justice, love & beauty. He is ever ready to shower His grace, mercy & blessings on His creation.

From the Rig Veda, we come to know of the vedic gods eight Vasus, eleven Rudras, twelve Adityas, Indra & Prajapathi, being the Gods of earth, the heavens & the space.

  • The Vedic Hindu Gods
  • Brahma – The God of Creation Saraswati – Goddess of Knowledge
  • Shiva – The God Of Cosmic Cycle Paravati – Goddess of Power/Benevolance
  • Vishnu – The God of Preservation Laxmi – Goddess of Wealth
  • Ganesh
  • Durga
  • Kali
  • Rama
  • Hanuman
  • Krishna
  • Mahavira – Jainism
  • Buddha – Buddhism
  • Guru Nanak – Sikhism
  • Swami Narayan
  • Shirdi Sai Baba
  • Other Revivals
  • Swami Dayananda – Arya Samaj
  • Swami Vivekananda – Revival of the Vedanta
  • Lecture at the World’s Parliament of Religions, Chicago 1893
  • Swami Prabhupadananda – Hare Krishna